Rommek to release 'Set In Stone' Trilogy on Blueprint Records

Set In Stone Trilogy
Igneous EP : Part I
Sedimentary EP : Part II
Metamorphic Remixes EP : Part III

Rommek returns to James Ruskin’s Blueprint this summer with his most established work to date, the ‘Set In Stone Trilogy’. The three-part release comprises two EPs of original productions that incorporate ambient electronics, broken rhythms and tightly controlled distortion.

The third release will consist of remixes from key members of the Blueprint team: James Ruskin, OVR, Broken English Club and Makaton.

Each release represents one of the fundamental rock classifications and the track titles are those found within each class. As Rommek states: “Rocks are usually categorised according to their texture, mineral or chemical content. I think this metaphorically relates to how we create music and even classify genres. The natural world inspires me all the time, whether it’s small patterns / textures found in formation and erosion, or a vast landscape. I also find it interesting how nature interacts with the man-made world. This trilogy explores that.” Part 1 of his ‘Set in Stone Trilogy’ is ‘Igneous’. Igneous rocks are formed by magma from the molten interior of the Earth. When magma erupts it crystallises and solidifies to form volcanic landforms. Rommek immediately sets the tone with an ambience of dark, atmospherics that build intensely leaving you with a feeling of anticipation. He then delivers 3 tracks of rhythmic techno from the driving 4/4 of ‘Obsidian’, to the gripping 3/4 of ‘Rhyolite’, finishing with the disjointed spatial beats of ‘Scoria’. His IDM sound design is constantly evolving, with menacing undertones.

The second part of the trilogy will be released in July, and part three will follow later in the year.